RSS Feed

Lisa Pierce

Posted on

Name: Lisa Pierce

Shop:  or LisaPierceJewelry

Location: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

Website: https://www.etsy.com/shop/LisaPierceJewelry

Facebook (business and/or personal): https://www.facebook.com/lisa.pierce.9041
Pinterest: https://www.facebook.com/lisa.pierce.9041
http://pinterest.com/EtsyBeadEmGuild/boards/
lisa-portrait

Please introduce yourself to the readers:  

Making jewelry began for me in 2002 and grew into my third career. After a hiatus from 2006 to 2011, I began bead embroidery in earnest and opened my Etsy shop in March 2012.

 How long have you been beading? Thirteen years. I learned bead embroidery from a magazine article. I still have the article and could, if necessary, date the event rather precisely.

When did you first try bead embroidery as  a technique? 
In approximately 2003, I tackled my first bead embroidery project after reading a magazine article.

Why do you like bead embroidery?

First, I adore the colors and textures of the beads. Second, I wanted to create things to wear. Third, I seem attracted to long-term projects that I can divide into a series of meticulous steps. See https://www.etsy.com/shop/LisaPierceJewelry/about/

What are your inspirations and influences?

Nature, suggestions from friends, vintage earrings, and a desire to have things to wear all influence me.

What are your favorite materials?

Toho beads, vintage jewelry, vintage gems, hand carved bone insets

 

What defines your style?

I make what I would wear and that always means unique and colorful. I try to avoid anything that looks matronly, cheap or garish.

 

4 responses »

  1. Awesome interview Lisa! I don’t like matronly either and I also love vintage components. Your work is beautiful.

    Reply
  2. Glade to meet you, Lisa. I do enjoy your work. It’s colorful, hip, and definitely young, not matronly. I like how you do the edge on the lizard piece. It looks like ‘tuck & roll’.

    Reply
  3. Wonderful to hear all about you. Your work shows how meticulous you are and I love your eye for color combinations. It is great to have you as a member here at EBEG!

    Reply
  4. These interviews draw us closer to each other. I enjoyed hearing your story and knowing more about you. Lisa, I love the creative designs and color combinations. You are a blessing to EBEG.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Painting with Beads

Bead embroidery as wearable art

Sanda's Blog

My handmade jewelry place

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

beadexplorations

My explorations and progress in beading techniques and designs

Wescott Jewelry

Welcome to my Virtual Craft Room

Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Official Blog for Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Color for Bead Artists

Exploring Creativity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

