RSS Feed

Sharon Fields Edelman


Name: Sharon Fields Edelman

Shop: SharonEdelmanForEPEC

Location: Etsy

Please introduce yourself to the readers:  

Where do I begin? I am 58 years old, wife, and mother of 5 grown sons, grandmother of three, Jeweler, GIA( GG) gemologist, and Professional artist. I studied Fine Art at Carnegie Mellon University in the 70’s, majoring in Painting (specifically oils, with a minor in printmaking). Besides all of that I also bred horses with great success and rode as an amateur in the Hunter/Jumper, Dressage, and Equitation rings. One of the things that I am most proud of is that at the age of 48, I , after showing horses on the line ,and realizing the need for safer, more accessible arenas in Ohio, developed, opened and ran the largest privately owned arena complex in the United States, Eden Park Equestrian Complex. I retired from it full time 3 years ago, only advising when asked. My son now runs the facility. This has enabled me to return to the art field. I came in contact with bead embroidery after seeing a bracelet. I started beading, with a passion that has never ceased, in July 2009.

 How long have you been beading? Since July 2009

When did you first try bead embroidery as  a technique?

I did not really know how to begin, so I took a class at a local bead shop. The instructor was not really qualified to teach, but I came up with many of my own solutions and also  bought the book The Art Of Bead Embroidery, by Heidi Kummli and Sherry Serafini.

Why do you like bead embroidery?

It is painting and sculpture. It is color and texture. It is functional, making the wearer feel special. It is personal and it is universal. It takes art into the street and outside of the gallery. It is as old as time and genetically programed into our need to express ourselves through decoration. And , of course it is that feeling of accomplishment one gets after the dedication it takes to make something so personal come to life and take on its own meaning for others. Plus, it’s FUN!

il_fullxfull.334779315

 

What are your inspirations and influences?

Everything inspires me, words, memories, people, events in my life, nature. Living is my inspiration.

What are your favorite materials?

Of course it is the glass beads first, the colors and texture, their ability to change under the influences of different light sources. I also like gemstones, bone, found objects, and rocks, ceramic.

What defines your style?

To continue learning and doing. This is an ancient art, with so much diversity in technique; it affords me the youthful ambition to always learn something new.

What are your future goals with beading? Improving bead embroidery skills, create bigger beadwork forms also join in my works gold thread embroidery with bead embroidery.

4 responses »

  1. That was the best description of bead embroidery I have ever heard and your right to be proud of your accomplishment with the arena. Great story. Thank you Sharon for sharing it with us.

    Reply
  2. Love this interview and your description of the beading embroidery art ! Thank you !

    Reply
  3. Sharon, what a fulfilling life!! I too agree, what a lovely description of bead embroidery.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. I love your description too. Your work is alway outstanding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Painting with Beads

Bead embroidery as wearable art

Sanda's Blog

My handmade jewelry place

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

beadexplorations

My explorations and progress in beading techniques and designs

Wescott Jewelry

Welcome to my Virtual Craft Room

Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Official Blog for Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Color for Bead Artists

Exploring Creativity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

