RSS Feed

Cindy Hulsey

Posted on

Cindy HulseyEtsy Shop: CCBeadwork

Website/Blog: www.beadsanddolls.blogspot.com

Facebook/Twitter:CCBeadwork

Please introduce yourself to the readers: My name is Cindy Hulsey. I was born August 30, 1957. I am a teacher and constant student of seed bead work. I love the earth, my only home. I have 2 adult sons and been married to their father and my buddy, Dewey since 1975.

How long have you been beading? I have playing with seed beads since 1969. I have been selling my work since 1985 and teaching everything seed beady since 1994.

When did you first try bead embroidery as  a technique? In 1970-ish I started embroidering on the pant legs and shirts of fellow Junior High students. I quickly added beads to the mix. I started making bead applique’/embroidered barrettes in the 1980’s.

Cindy Hulsey - Bead Embroidered Daisy

Cindy Hulsey – Bead Embroidered Daisy

Why do you like bead embroidery? I don’t like bead embroidery. I LOVE it! What I find attractive is the line of the technique. I love that you can take that line anywhere and the line can actually be the focus.

What are your inspirations and influences? My inspiration is the beads themselves.  I love the feel, the color, the finish and the possibilities. I am influenced by everyone who creates with seed beads. I love to see what others do and am amazed at what they do.

Cindy Hulsey What are your favorite materials? Seed beads, Pliver leather (Tandy no longer makes this leather but it was perfect for my applique’ work.) I now use ultra-suede and woven interfacing. I mainly use Nymo thread and Thread Heaven conditioner.

What defines your style? People assume because I work with seed beads that I do and know about Indian style beadwork and culture. I don’t. I do what I call “Cindy style” beadwork. It is whatever strikes me to create.

What are your future goals with beading? I would like to teach more, through tutorials and maybe videos. I would like to get a book published.

 

Cindy Hulsey - Bead Embroidered Bee and Saguaro

Cindy Hulsey – Bead Embroidered Bee and Saguaro

2 responses »

  1. Sharayah Sheldon

    Hi Cindy, good to meet you via photo. I admire your bead embroidered “photos” and dolls. Your work is truly “Cindy-style”

    Reply
  2. Hi Cindy, it’s great to put a face with the beadwork. Nice to meet you! I admire your work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Painting with Beads

Bead embroidery as wearable art

Sanda's Blog

My handmade jewelry place

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

beadexplorations

My explorations and progress in beading techniques and designs

Wescott Jewelry

Welcome to my Virtual Craft Room

Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Official Blog for Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Color for Bead Artists

Exploring Creativity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

