RSS Feed

Christina Neit

Posted on

Name: Christina Neit
Shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/GoodQuillHunting
Website: http://goodquillhunting.com
Location: Denver, Colorado
Please introduce yourself to the readers: I was born and raised in Maine. I have lived in Florida for 2 years and moved here to Colorado in 2010. This is my permanent home and my dream of a life time! I have 4 kids ranging from 28-12, 2 of each.
How long have you been beading? I have been beading since 2005. I actually used to play with beads when I was young with the cheap loom you can buy for a few dollars. I grew up in a VERY small town on the Canadian Border and was always influenced by the bead work at the local ‘Indian Store’ (that was the name of it, I am sure it has changed since in lieu of political correctness).

When did you first try bead embroidery as a technique? I was bead embroidering 6 months into teaching myself how to bead. This magazine cover was my inspiration and how I learned: http://www.beaduniquemag.com/issues/issue8.shtml and my piece named Royalty was the result of that.

Why do you like bead embroidery? I love bead embroidery because there really are no rules. All you need is knowledge of a basic stitch and the rest is all you. It is virtually impossible to duplicate and I think that it gives more opportunity to a bead artist to ‘think outside the box’ and allows more creative freedoms that a patterned weave.

What are your inspirations and influences? When I started beading, I was totally enthralled with the European and Russian bead artists and I still am. They all were very influential in my work. I am inspired by way too many people/place/things to list and don’t seem to lack in that department, it actually drives me crazy sometimes.

What are your favorite materials? This is easy–seed beads!!

What defines your style? As for a ‘style’ I honestly couldn’t tell you about my ‘style’. I like to do all types of bead work and try to please as many customers as possible with as many different types of work as possible. I don’t see myself with a specific style, although others may, I cannot see it.

What are your future goals with beading? Always try to ‘out do’ myself. Keep my work as eclectic as I can and try to ‘stay ahead’ by doing original and unusual work. I need to do more pattern work. I have ideas all the time, I just really would rather bead than be designing patterns.

3 responses »

  1. Chris, thanks for sharing. How did you come up with "Good Quill Hunting??"

    Reply
  2. Hi Sharayah, sorry, I am just now seeing your question. Dave came up with it. We both have an affinity for puns and plays on words, so this came up. I often get called 'Good Will Hunting' after the movie, which the 'play' is based on 😉 It fit like a glove when it rolled off his tongue LOL

    Reply
  3. It is lovely to hear about you and what inspires you, your work inspires me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Painting with Beads

Bead embroidery as wearable art

Sanda's Blog

My handmade jewelry place

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

beadexplorations

My explorations and progress in beading techniques and designs

Wescott Jewelry

Welcome to my Virtual Craft Room

Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Official Blog for Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Color for Bead Artists

Exploring Creativity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

